Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im about to get a 05 or 06 zx6r but i want to bore it out to 800cc has anyone here bored one out to that degree before?

·
All show and all go 10r
5,921 Posts
i'm no expert but i'd assume it has been done and can be done simply because the gsxr 600 and 750 are the same engine. I have seen the gsxr done to a 850.

·
Guilty by association
8,751 Posts
Garth would probably know, but im gonna say yes, based on the idea that there are clearances in the stock motor that can be expanded but at the cost of reliability.

why not just use a 10r? it will be more reliable and less headache.

·
All show and all go 10r
5,921 Posts
Garth would probably know, but im gonna say yes, based on the idea that there are clearances in the stock motor that can be expanded but at the cost of reliability.

why not just use a 10r? it will be more reliable and less headache.
agreed. I was gonna do the same thing with a gsxr 750 and ended up crashing it. But to be fair he probably just wants something unique.

·
Guilty by association
8,751 Posts
yea that would be unique,

·
Registered
860 Posts
I don't think there's enough cylinder wall to just bore it. But, if you combined it with a stroker crank you could probably acheive it. I don't think it would be very reliable though. When they do big strokers in dragbikes a lot of times they aren't ran on the street and tore down at the end of the season.

·
All show and all go 10r
5,921 Posts
You have would have to stroke it to get those ccs. I remember when I was active on gixxer there was a guy whose made his 750 into a 8xx cc big bang motor. It sounded amazing. I hope you got deep pockets.

·
Registered
1,814 Posts
I dont think the cylinder walls are thick enough to achieve 800cc if you take a 600 I bet you could only get 700-725 cc's out of it. Im not a motor guy but thats my opinion

·
Registered
4,603 Posts