Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
447 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well playas its time, I ve been riding for 2 years now (on street, 10 on dirt) and I just ordered the laguna seca suit, time to get that knee down. I am already getting the edge of the tire w/o pucks so I dont think it will be too far of a stretch for me. I have practiced the form the last 5 months or so when I ride. Suit comes in thursday (along with my Spies signature helmet) and I will be out sat and sunday. Now, do you recommend I pratice this in a parking lot before hand, or just go out on the road I normally ride and allow my knee to stick out? I am leaning in the direction of the parking lot, but I will look silly, but I have a spare bike to practice on in case of low sides or some other phenomenon. I am actually a bit nevus because I have never done it before, any pointers. I got the balls of feet, back on the seat, drop shoulder, relaxed girp on bars. I normally try to keep planted on the seat and just use my upper body because I didnt want to knee to hit and grind my skin. Is it going to be as simple as just moving my butt now?

·
Registered
447 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yeah, I hear ya on that, I will hit the track up next season, think I am going to rent it out a few times next year.

·
Registered
447 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I stand corrected, they are open all year, looks like I will be going later this month.

·
Registered
609 Posts
IMO trying to get a knee down is bad. If you work on good body position, getting a knee down will happen. Let it happen, don't try to force it. and Yes, take it to the track.

You want to be forward on the seat, not back. Weight the inside peg and "kiss the mirror" as you lean forward coming into a turn. Don't use your upper body, use your legs to move around. Never pull on the bars. Look where you want to go.

Best to have a skilled rider follow you so they can help tell you what you are doing wrong.

·