Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
524 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, I have been riding motorcycles for about 20 years now and just the other day I saw a younger rider on a CBR600RR and he put his foot down and dragged it on the ground. Am I missing something here? I thought this was an isolated incident but then I was riding again and saw someone else do the same thing. I know Rossi and other riders stick their feet out now when initiating a turn but these kids were going about 65mph in a straight line down the freeway:dontknow: Can someone please enlighten this old man as to why this is done?

·
Registered
2,976 Posts
Never figured it out in my 30 yrs of riding. About 15 yrs ago a guy I rode with quite a bit did it but I never asked why. I figured maybe to stretch his legs but didn't get the dragging part.

:dontknow:

·
Licensed Dist of HaterAde
11,423 Posts
I know i've seen some of the younger guys here around town do a similar thing but it's when they're switching lanes and they just kind of stretch out a leg to let the traffic behind them know which way they're fixing to go.....not sure if it's the same thing but i've still yet to understand even that?

·
Registered
524 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Was he pointing a hazard out on the street? Sometimes if there is a pothole or piece of metal or roadkill, the person in front will take his foot off the peg and point it out.
No, there wasnt any hazard o the street. He just dragged his foot on the ground. Strange to say the least

·
Banned
2,838 Posts
I put my leg out in a race going into a turn only when I'm sweating and my leathers are binding up { sticking to my leg restricting my movement } it helps to pull the leathers up your leg so you can stick you knee out better! I thought thats why every one did it?

·
Registered
1,570 Posts