Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I own a 08 zx 10 and love the bike too much to race it and destroy it.Money is a factor and i am new to racing,so i wont buy new,so am looking at 2003 to 2006 bikes.I am, 6 foot 230 and i have wached the 600 races which are the most popular but the most dangerous as the kids in their are just crazy and crash all the time.It is hard enough to focus on your race let alone some idiots around the track as well.So i am looking at suzuki gsxr 750 or 1000 or maybe cbr.I want a bike that will be a good track bike to start with,cheap on parts,easy for me to work on and repair.Something i can grow into,i dont want to put time and money into a bike only to sell it later on to move on to something better.Yes,i know i am posting this on a kawai board but i figure some racers on here could give personal input and info?

·
Registered
6,074 Posts
I a friend of mine is 240 without gear and got a GSXR 1000 track bike and he loves it...

Lots of bike available as are parts too...

·
Premium Member
4,394 Posts
Do you want to race it, or do you want to do track days?

Track days are expensive. Racing can be Reeeeeeeeaaaallly expensive.

If you want to do track days, buy whatever floats your boat and fits your budget. It really doesn't matter whether the bike is competitive in its class. Track days are also not normally subdivided by type of bike - rather by how much experience the rider has. Keep in mind that you are more likely to learn faster on a small bike (that forces you to learn cornering speed and won't put you on your head in a high-side as easily).