Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm new here. I am thinking of getting a zx10r. I found a deal on one that has a cracked frame. I do welding for a living so it would be easy, so my question is, what type of alloy is in the frame? I think 6000 or weldable 7000 series?

·
Registered
75 Posts
Hi. I'm new here. I am thinking of getting a zx10r. I found a deal on one that has a cracked frame. I do welding for a living so it would be easy, so my question is, what type of alloy is in the frame? I think 6000 or weldable 7000 series?

I would steer clear of any bike with a cracked frame. Even if welded it could give you problems.

·
Registered
2,929 Posts
Likely not.... a good deal of the sections of the frame are cast, so you are probably looking at the casting alloys (XXX.X), though I have ZERO idea which one or in which state of temper. the other sections are formed, so that likely rules out 7XXX.

·
Premium Member
9,188 Posts
You didn't mention the year but I personally know Gen 1's have been successfully repaired by being welded. I don't know if they are good enough for track use afterwards but for usual street they are good. Someone on here will mostly likely chime in and give you the answer you are looking for.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes, it is a 2005. I plan and only use it as a street bike, no wheelies etc. My opinion is that I've welded broken aluminum dirt bike frames and they've never come back, and they have a lot more stresses on them then just plain street riding.

·
Registered
2,164 Posts
Code:
Yes, it is a 2005. I plan and only use it as a street bike, no wheelies etc. My opinion is that I've welded broken aluminum dirt bike frames and they've never come back, and they have a lot more stresses on them then just plain street riding.