Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I want to buy a new chain but don't know what brand to buy.Im the guy who posted chain adjustment how often.Well after having a nasty scare on my bike the other day,my chain walked off both sprockets just as I was hitting the throttle onto a highway.I was told that I was lucky and I know it,I was able to coast onto the shoulder safely.With that being said I don't feel that Im getting the right adjustment so Im thinking that the chain should be replaced.When I adjust it at the tightest spot on the chain it seems that there is way too much slack at the other end.The bike is brand new a 2008 left over,I only have 1800 miles on it and had it serviced at 1100 miles at the dealer.I dropped the oil and filter and adjusted the chain at 600 milesAm I doing something wrong?.Im new to these kind of bikes but don't want to be running back to the dealer for every little thing.Im going to invest in a repair manual.Any and all input would be appreciated. (I bring the chain around to the tightest spot to adjust it,I adjust it to 1.5" and I spin the tire to check it,at the loose end it just seems like there is too much slack,I mean like inches of slack.)

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
D.I.D. or RK is your best choice for chains.

I seriously doubt you need a chain.

I'm not sure exactly what you mean.

"When you adjust it to the tightest spot, there is way too much slack at the other end?" I don't understand what you are saying.

·
Registered
860 Posts