Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I knew that velocity stacks have been changed on my bike by the previous owner but could not have a chance yet to check them.

Today I changed my air filter and took a few pictures inside the air box.

Here is what I found. What do you think? Is this good or bad that I found? :dontknow:

·
Registered
3,152 Posts
Looks like some custom made ones. I've not seen any that look like those. The taller stacks will give a boost to the midrange.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The two outer ones look a bit hackish to me as they were cut a little to fit inside the airbox.

That is why I thought they are worse than the original ones but unfortunately I am not really an expert on this area.

·
formerly GHOST RIDER
2,132 Posts
Who does the bike respond to the throttle? Do you have a PC ? If not, then your bike is not runnung normal. Is your bike sluggish at the start? I had 3 sets made for my 05 (different height) and never got it running right w/o a PC. The v stack does make the bike sound evil as hell tho.

·
Supercharged Mod
4,392 Posts
The two outer ones look a bit hackish to me as they were cut a little to fit inside the airbox.

That is why I thought they are worse than the original ones but unfortunately I am not really an expert on this area.
Even the stock velocity stacks are cut away slightly to clear the airbox side walls.

Looks like these were made with a taper rather than a bell-mouth curve. Not ideal, but the difference between this and the ideal shape is likely too small to notice.

My money is on "doesn't make any difference" in this case.

·
formerly GHOST RIDER
2,132 Posts
I would just go get the stock stacks and compare the two as to see how the bike responds. Like you say, you don't have a PC at the moment, my money will be on going with stock stacks and your bike will be running better.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #8