Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just inspected my valve this morning on my 06 zx10 and they are a little loose.
I know the tolerance for the Ex is .17 - .22mm or .0067 - .0087in and for
the intake it is .15 - .24mm or .0059 - .0094in.

My question is where in that range should I be.

The bike is only used for track and race so no street miles. The bike is production so there is no special components.

I have called a few places some say go with the middle of the range while others are saying to go closer to the tight side.

I can see the benefits to both so any input would be very helpful

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,797 Posts
I might be wrong on this but as a machinist I would think that as long you are within the high and low of your tolerances you should be ok. In the machine shop world thats why you have tolerance. Also if I understand things correctly the valves in this engines get tight over time instead of loose due to valveseat wear,....again not sure?:dontknow:

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I might be wrong on this but as a machinist I would think that as long you are within the high and low of your tolerances you should be ok. In the machine shop world thats why you have tolerance. Also if I understand things correctly the valves in this engines get tight over time instead of loose due to valveseat wear,....again not sure?:dontknow:
I have heard that usually it is supposed to get tight too which is another thing that is throwing me off. I'm mostly curious as to weather on side of the spectrum is better than another for road racing or if I should shoot for the middle. I was told that the shims might be starting to compress witch would cause the loose fit. I don't know.

·
Registered
1,797 Posts