Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, i just bought a Gen 4 and i am looking for suggestion on what to acquire in order to have a bike that is even more track focused.
Ideally i wanna start racing this year (i am in Australia) as i have about 3 years experience on track.
Bike has the following already.
  • Woolich tune, with tools.
  • Vortex rearsets. Only thing is that i am not sure how good the GP shift is as bike was used with stock pattern. I reversed the knuckle but it seems like the clearance is very small. Pics of similar setups or ideas?
  • Race subframe
  • Radiator guard
  • Engine covers
And a bit more stuff.
What i want to know is whether there is something else that is good to have for racing.
Are GB racing bullet sliders a good idea? Any chance of them catching and flipping the bike?
Is it worth getting an aftermarket fairing stay and intake?
Alternatives for switch blocks as i want to mount my thumb brake from my Gen 1?
Underslung caliper?

Open to suggestions as long as they don't break the bank.
Cheers.

·
Registered
95 Posts
If racing is your goal, I would suggest finding out who your local race organization is and get a copy of the rulebook. Some modifications are required, and some are not allowed, or will limit your eligibility of classes. I would also suggest going to some of your local races and talking to the racers. See what they are using for tires, brake set-ups and suspension.

For me:
I run Michelin slicks now, used to run Dunlops and Pirellis. They are all good.
I like Vesrah SRJL-XX brake pads. I run braided lines with a Brembo 19x18 master. Some people like the EBC pads better.
I have the attack rear suspension link with an Ohlins TTX shock, and the front forks are re-valved with the Race Tech kit.
I start with 16/42 gearing and adjust from there depending on the track.