Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
937 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This isnt related to my 10R - its my wifes R6....

but, she has a lowering link such as this on her bike. And her bike is wayy too low.

The link is currently bolted on through the red hole.

If I bolt the link on through the black hole, will this RAISE or LOWER it?

I have zero experience with lowering kits, but I would assume that it would be raised.

Also, any tips for doing this?
Im assuming Im going to need a 2nd person to help hold the tail of the bike up as I unbolt the current position and bolt to the new position...

THANKS!

:beer:

Attachments

·
Registered
6,354 Posts
I believe that you are right and it would raise it. Unfortunatly not 100% sure.

·
Registered
376 Posts
I'll look on the R6 at the shop tonight or tomorrow, but if it's like everything else, it will raise it.

You'll have to get a jack stand to put under where the shock is mounted. Get the right size wrench, and an air gun with the correct size socket. Lift the jack to take the pressure off the shock, but don't over lift it. Just enough to get the weight off. Un-bolt the lower mount, and make VERY minor adjustments to get the weight off the link, so you can easily remove the bolt. Lift it up so it is aligned with the next hole, and push the bolt back through. Put your nut back on, and tighten well with the air gun. Make sure you have a good enough jack, cause the bike will be off the suspension temporarily, and fully on the jack. You can do this whole process while the bike is sitting on the kick stand as well.

·
Registered
1,369 Posts
i used a ratchet strap thew the rafters of the garage and then under the tail to hold it up. it was pretty easy.

·
Registered
937 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
TheBoss10R said:
You'll have to get a jack stand to put under where the shock is mounted.
I want to make sure I understand what you mean.