Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any of u guys had to hav your tappets adjusted from new? I'm a mobile plant mechanic by trade, not a motorcycle mechanic but from what i understand the 10 has a bucket over shim set up which makes me think that they should be sweet unless if kawasaki cant put the right size shims in from new. Anyway my bike has been slightly noisy since new (i only have 1950kms on clock) whenever the bike is warm. Its quiet when cool but after and durin a ride when shes been workin a bit, theres a slight noise there and it sounds like tappets to me. Other blokes from my work think it could be also but we r all unsure. I took it to my dealer and he 1st tried to tell me its the noise the cat converter makes in the standard muffler. I now have a aftermarket muffler and the noise is stil there its only a slight noise but albeit its stil there. The dealer then told me that it was loose "metal" in the engine from new (how great) coz they wouldnt let me change my oil til 1000kms. So i got my oil and filter done at 1000kms by my dealer ( we get 1st free service here) then the noise went away for say 200kms (coulda been me just ridin it soft) then I started hearin it again. I could just be paranoid but i was wonderin if any 1 out theres had the same experience. The only other thing i can think of is that the dealer uses crap oil and its breakin down and hence the noise. Also any 1 had any exhaust leaks or loose clamps/flanges from new? My bikes only 6wks old.

·
Registered
1,830 Posts
Some of those descriptions yuo've been told seem abit odd to me, the motor is noisy no doubt about it, but I hav'nt had any probs with it. I read somewhere here one cause probably due to having thinner engine cases, the crap oil(thin) could also be a cause.:dontknow:

Would'nt lose any sleep over it anyway, sounds alot better when on full throttle.:thumbsup:

·
Registered
58 Posts