Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i was wondering if anyone else had this problem , a while ago i went to look at the exhaust cables from the servo and followed them down to the exhaust and theres a plate on the swingarm covering the valve so i tried to open the bolts but couldnt and i got snap on tools so i cant blame them the inside of the allenhead just rounded , i was gona use heat but decided against it because of the coating on swingarm , im stu mped wots goin on coz im an engineer and am used to shite like dis but i dont wanna butcher my bike, so if ani1 has ani useful info id b well pleased

·
Registered
1,971 Posts
I have along with many others im sure. No need to feel like a tardo...:mrgreen:

·
Registered
3,360 Posts
I never had any problems taking mine off, the bolts themselves are still the same ones, and they are slightly rounded but I've taken that plate off 2 or 3 times. If it makes any difference, I was using some pretty cheap pieces as well, I guess I'm just use to working on rusty old trucks/cars, kind of get a knak for not wanting to strip shit.

It was suggested in the removal of the secondaries threads to heat up the tip of the screwdriver to aid in getting the bolts out because of the red loctite, I did that at the time and I'm sure it helped. So you could heat up the allen head and then put it onto the bolt, and hold it there for 30 seconds or so for the heat to transfer then try.

·
Registered
187 Posts
I have some good experience with these bolts. First thing you can do is drill them and use an easy out. That worked for one the two bolts I had left to remove. The last remaining bolt I had to sequentially drill out to the top of the threads. Then I used a dental tool to pick the metal out of the first couple of threads and followed it with an 8mm 1.25 tap. All bolts were then replaced with 8mm hex head bolts (no more allens).

·
La Flama Blanca
7,730 Posts