Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
478 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Stupid question. Is it normal for the ZX10 to have a really low seat height? I'm 5'6" and I can stand flat footed at a stop light. Other bikes I've ridden (650R, 600s, etc) are all much higher. Hell this thing is about as high as a EX250... well maybe about an inch higher.

I am wondering if the previous owner lowered the rear shock a bit. How much of the threads on the shock should be showing at stock settings? I know that changing the geometry around and change the handlign characteristics and, as I am very new to the 10, I would like it to be in it's stock settings before I change things around. Keep in mind that with full armor, boots, backpack, etc- I'm weighing in at less than 160.

·
Registered
763 Posts
My guess is somewhere along the line someone threw in some lowering links. If thats the case is shouldnt be much of a problem to remove them.

·
Registered
45 Posts
I'm 6' and can just put both heels on the ground on my 05. The tail section should look like it's sticking way up in the air.

·
Licensed Dist of HaterAde
11,423 Posts
My guess is somewhere along the line someone threw in some lowering links. If thats the case is shouldnt be much of a problem to remove them.
:+1: look under the shock and see if there are links there, if so just put the stockers back and then you may have a problem touching the ground with both feet....:mrgreen: I don't think it should be as low as you describe at all.

·
Registered
478 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I've looked. Haven't seen any lowering links. The shock has two rings on it to adjust the spring. The rings look like they are rather high up. I was wondering how many threads should be showing at stock settings.