Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Took my 07 to its first (dry) track day last Sunday. With all the bar slapping coming onto the main straight I cant imagine riding one of these without a steering damper!
My question concerns the brakes though. After a few quick laps the front brake lever needing pulling in further and further, to the point that when I came into the pits I could pull it back to the bar. Its set on the furthest setting.
Im thinking I either need-
a) Braided lines
b) better pads
c) ZX14 calipers

Im not overly hard on the brakes at the track, so I was suprised at how weak they became, and i dont want my lap times hamstrung by a lack of brake pressure...

·
Registered
690 Posts
i am no expert and have never been to a track day, so this is all what i've read on this forum.

that being said, the brakes on the second gen 10's are straight up crap on the track. just what you said happens every time you take a 10 to the track.

all 3 is the answer. or go big and get the brembo setup. there may be something else with getting a new rezzy, but not 100%. do a search.

·
Registered
34,537 Posts
The 06,7 radial MC is a superior unit compared to the 04,5 traditional unit so you have that in your corner.
Your choices are to go the inexpensive route with ss-lines, a high quality fluid and better pads along with a good manual bleed of the entire system a few times starting with the MC then down to the calipers then ride it a couple hundered miles and bleed yet again. orrrrrrrrr

source 07 zx6r/14 calipers, lines and fluid and bleed as i stated above.

BD

·
Registered
60 Posts
Brakes

I have a first gen and upgraded the Master, put braided lines on, and upgraded to HH sintered pads which helped, but the next is definitely the calipers as they still suck under track conditions with stock calipers.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #5