Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm picking up my 10 this weekend and looking to set her up as a dedicated track tool.

I'm new to the ZX10R and I've just started reading about what mods to make and it looks like the following are springing to the fore;

- steering damper
- one tooth less front sprocket
- slip on can or full system
- PCIII
- track fairings
- crash bungs (bobbins)

As the weather in the UK is turning crappy at this time of year (its crappy at the best of times), I've only got a few chances to get on the track this year, and not much cash to do all the mods, how would you prioritise the mods listed above? Which ones would you add to the list or remove?

I'm assuming that the brakes / suspension / rearsets will be up to the job and would not need replacing at first? The fairings are a given and I really wouldn't track her without removing all lights/indicators/numberplate hangers etc.... so other than fairings, where else should I be aiming my cash? The steering damper seems an obvious one, is it that bad without it?

I read a bit about 520 conversions, is this worth it? How strong are they?

Sorry for all the questions, but I'm loving ZX10R ownership and I haven't picked her up yet!!!!

Tim :helmet:

·
Registered
34,537 Posts
Tim

As i mentioned in another post 'replace the shock' i.e. forget the PC3 & pipe and do this. As for the rest of your list that should suffice.

As long as your installing a 16t you might as well replace the chain & rear sprocket and lengthen it a link or two until its on the 5th mark out of 7 when complete. The xtr wheelbase will add stability.

BD

·
Registered
2,299 Posts