Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm VERY new to the world of the ZX10 and it's exhaust servo. I picked up a downed 05 from a buddy and I want to change the look of the exhaust from a Yosh slip on to a Race Fit Slash. But from the looks of it, you can't just put it on a stock header, as the butterfly assembly is a welded part of the entire exhaust.

So my questions are these..... To use a Slash exhaust, do I need an aftermarket header, or can I cut the stock exhaust? And actually, is there any sort of advantage to having their Slash tip exhaust (or that style in general) or is it the equivalent of removing the can?

·
Registered
265 Posts
your going to have backpressure issues even with a full tune. the advantage is more noise... tons of noise.... ear rupturing pissing off your neighborhood noise. srsly though, its horribly loud with a slashcut. if you disconnect the servo the motor will burn out eventually and set an fI light.

hopefully some resident experts will chime in soon and educate you a little more. look for garthman is the only name to come up off the top of my head but theres some really educated tuners on here, listen to them.

·
Registered
1,359 Posts
if you disconnect the servo the motor will burn out eventually and set an fI light.
WHAT?! I've never heard of that.

The slash fits on just like any other slip-on. The servo is in the header so you can leave it alone. I previously had a full on my bike (with a slash cut - the boz moira, stupid loud, had to get rid of it eventually), so I disconnected the cables at the servo motor then. I haven't put them back on, as the servo just stays open all the time now.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
WHAT?! I've never heard of that.