Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Thanks for taking a look at this post...

I'm new to the strip, but have been riding since 18 (just turned 31 last week).

Goal: 1st, beat my friends 10.3x vette. 2nd, get into the 9's

Heres what I got:
-A green 04,
-Lowered to 3" ground clearance
-K&N
-Rear seat cowl
-16 tooth front sprocket, stock rear
-no muffler (basically, an exhaust tip mounted to the midpipe, right after the -servo motor/butterfly valve)
-2CT PILOT POWER 190 rear tire
-Im 6'-1", 205

????????????????????
Before I hit the strip:
-Get a strap (understood)
-Gearing ?
-?????????

At the strip:
-Launch rpm?
-Shift points (redline is my guess)
-???????????

Experienced help is appreciated in advance.

·
Registered
2,442 Posts
:welcome:

I dabble at drag racing...go to a strip and lap!!!

Strap is good, extensions are good(not hair)

Get your ass back and tuck your head...let out the clutch so the front just leaves the ground and shift...

Lower the gearing...mine is -1 front and its still way to high.

Replace clutch as needed.

·
Registered
2,261 Posts
Strap is a good idea to start. I'd leave the gearing at what you have it at until you get used to launching hard. Try leaving at "around" 5k and try different revs to get what works best for you.Slip the clutch as to avoid a big wheelie but not so much as to just burn the damn clutch up. It takes time to get this step right but you'll get it. As for shift points if you've had the bike dyno'd take a look at the dyno sheet and see where the power curve drops off and shift right before that. Or if you don't have that shift around 12k and eventally you will be able to go off of the sound and not even look at the tac. Good luck and let us know how it goes.

·
Registered
1,561 Posts