Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Just trolling
2,618 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone have/had the mazda RX8 before or this type of engine tbh this is my first time actually hearing of engine like this in a car( ive heard of em but really didnt know what they put them in) i love the look and the reviews look pretty good of the rx8's but wanted to see if anyone on here had any background in these. do they need alot of maintenance? are they reliable? and for anyone who has had/or does have the rx8's how do you like it? thanks:thumbsup:

·
Registered
3,561 Posts
I had the RX7 (Better than the RX8 IMO)
Rotary needs TLC. Change oil frequent. Say every 3,000kms. And use Dino Juice. Non-synthetic oil. And keep the cooling system in a healthy state. Insure all oil hoses are good. They tend to go hard from the heat and burst and dump oil at an alarming rate. I know had this on the freeway. Rotor blades knackered rebuild engine. Still would buy another. Respond pretty good to mods.

·
Registered
235 Posts
As time goes on Mazda manages to make the rotary engine alot more reliable and better.

The rotary engine kinda drives like a bike motor... power is delivered higher up and it LOVES to be revved.

The rotary also responds so well to turbos because it puts out ALOT of exhaust which makes spinning the turbo up so good.

Excellent car, excellent motor

·
Registered
3,561 Posts
As time goes on Mazda manages to make the rotary engine alot more reliable and better.

The rotary engine kinda drives like a bike motor... power is delivered higher up and it LOVES to be revved.

The rotary also responds so well to turbos because it puts out ALOT of exhaust which makes spinning the turbo up so good.

Excellent car, excellent motor
I agree, and I am sure the current rotaries in the RX8 are alot better. Turbos and free flowing exhaust systems is the way to go.

·
Registered
1,347 Posts