Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello friends...

I was wondering about superbikes and I realised that in Ducati forum... R1 forum.. every forum the 1000cc bikes have some kind of "magic appeal" that (in some cases) make people afraid of them.

I've heard a lot of things like "Why would you want a liter bike if it has too much power for any situation that you ever will be?"

Besides that... everybody tells that even amoung the superbikes, the zx10r is specially powerful...

so.. the question is:

coming from street bikes like buell citycross.. triumph street triple.... is the zx10r too much to be fun? I mean... some guys told me that I would be so scared w/ all the power that I wouldn't be able to enjoy the ride...

Is it true? do you recommend a "600 supersport stage" before de 10r?

and no.. I'm not an expert rider... but I plan to learn to ride in a track.... w/ time everything is possible, right?

so.. thanks for the inputs..

Azp.

·
Registered
2,159 Posts
As you will find from many, depends on you and your mindset...
Are you capable of having a balance between balls & brains?

A zx10r is as docile as any 600 (actually easier to ride in many regards) but when the throttle is twisted WAY back the bike becomes another animal.
With that working into the learning curve not jumping in fire is a better idea, and if you can do this i think you will be fine.

Only downside i can give the ZX-10R is that is does not handle as well as a 600 which no literbike does without some crazy money in wheels and mods, otherwise they kick ass.

·
Registered
1,140 Posts
It's all in the right wrist! Learn throttle control. IMHO the ZX10R is a better track bike than a street bike, but that doesnt mean I don't have a f'ing blast out in the hills on it come weekend time.

·
Registered
2,970 Posts