Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,436 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so after I put on my starter cover back on due to a crack and the oil leaking, the oil glass showed about a little less than half full while the bike is straight, so there was some oil in there and I started the bike to see if there is any leaks.

Thank god no leak, now have to put fairing on tonight, didnt have time had to go to work.

Then I started thinking is that bad, didnt run the bike for more than a minute though in the garage.

So now my other question is should the oil glass thing be full when I check for oil on the bike when the bike is standing straight up

sorry guys Im a fucking noob/boob but I figured Id rather do the work and the oil changes my self, how am I going to learn if I dont do it myself

one more question and than you all can beat me

I got champs sliders, do I need to take the fairings off to install them

:dontknow:

·
Registered
2,897 Posts
your oil sight glass should have two marks on the right side of it and the oil level should be somewhere in the middle of those lines... when the bike is level and straight up off the side stand.. not sure bout the sliders

·
Registered
609 Posts
If the oil is half way up the glass when the bike is level, you are fine.

When I put champs sliders on I only loosened the plastics.

·
Registered
1,436 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
your oil sight glass should have two marks on the right side of it and the oil level should be somewhere in the middle of those lines... when the bike is level and straight up off the side stand.. not sure bout the sliders
thanks bro, I will chekc later, just checked with champ industries and I will have to take the farings off, but no big deal not too hard now that I have taken them once

so the 10w40 castrol oil that most on here use synthetic is the same as the oil that is put in to the cars, I can get it at local car store

or is it a motorcycle 10w40 oil

·
Registered