Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, this is my first post here and I was hoping I could get some basic info about buying a 2nd gen. I've been riding for 13 years and started with a ZX6R, went to the R1 for a bit and now I want to buy a ZX10R.

I've seen a few bikes that I really like but have high mileage on them. (30,000 plus). Is this cause for concern for any of you? For example, I found one with 36k in good condition, clean title/etc, for $2k less than those with a lot less miles so thought I should ask.

Also, I did use the search function, but couldn't really find anything specific about things I should look out for with the 2nd gen (for example, I know with the 1st gen there were frame issues). Anybody have info I should look out for, or links so I can read up on them myself?

Thanks!

p.s.: sorry if this is in the wrong section but thought I'd start out here.

·
REPOST Enforcement Mod
'16 ZX-10R KRT
15,721 Posts
Welcome to da party!

The Gen 2 is the redheaded bastard cousin of the ZX-10R series. It is either loved or hated, but mostly just under appreciated. It looks good, has a stout motor with good midrange, and it pretty comfy. It's a bit heavier, but more easy to ride. It will still get the job down quite nicely. For the price these can be had for, they are a great buy. I loved mine.