Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2,342 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok time to get into drag racing!
I'm brand new to dragging but has been around nothing but drag racing. I road race a lot meaning roll ons on the highway and what not but has NEVER drag raced.

So I got this 04 I can use to drag and I was practicing launching last night and I'm trying to leave at around 6k as I launch the bike seems to bog should I launch at higher RPM's like 8k like most people say? I'm a lil worried about that since I'm SWB and never launched hard before.

Its an 04 SWB with full Akra, pc3, Scotts damper lowered ummm A LOT! -1 front. I weight about 150 with gear. Also during drag do you guys use clutchless shifts or no?

Any suggestions or advice? I plan on doing a 2' or 3' add to the SWB. Didn't want to go to far since I didn't want to lose that much cornering. Getting my gears undercut, and installing cams and shift star also during the winter.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,225 Posts
Clutchless shifting when drag racing.

I've got a quickshifter that'll plug right into your PC3 - kills the ignition rather than the throttle so you can shift wide open throttle if you want. $100 to your door.

·
FEELING LUCKY, PUNK ?
5,739 Posts
Clutchless shifting when drag racing.

I've got a quickshifter that'll plug right into your PC3 - kills the ignition rather than the throttle so you can shift wide open throttle if you want. $100 to your door.
use your clutch and you add 3 seconds :thumbsup:

·
Registered
582 Posts
Just stretch it 4-6 in. then launch the hell outta it ... Then shift as fast as you can without the clutch just a small blip of the throttle ... See what you get.

·
Registered
2,342 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
So you guys don't think I can get away with just a 2-3 inch stretch? Yes, I know I have 4 bikes now BUT this 04 seems to be my favorite!

Using the clutch doesn't really add 3 seconds does it?