Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Mythical Mod of Yore
4,465 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a k and n on my bike...the oil filter tool doesnt fit because the filter is smooth...it has a 16mm hex on top of it, but when i try to loosen the filter the socket slips...

i bought this today on the recommendation of the guy at cycle gear

and maybe im doing it wrong, but all that this did was crush the sides of the filter.

ive been changing the oil on my motorcycles for about 100 years now and have never needed to ask for advice, but i just cant get the fugger off...

any help is greatly appreciated...

·
Registered
2,105 Posts
please post whats the outcome of this because i bought a K & N filter to put on this weekend so I'd like to know if the filter is a pain in the ass I'll just sell it.

·
Registered
362 Posts
Had the same problem of trying to get my K and N off. I ended borrowing an oversize set of channel lock pliers from my riding buddy and was able to get enough of a grip to twist it off. If that hadn't worked, it would have been the screwdriver method.

·
Registered
1,322 Posts
If you punch it up thru the bottom you can drain the oil out of the filter first then proceed to take it off.....not as messy

·
Registered
3,360 Posts
I just Heeman grip the sonufabitch's, they piss me off enough that my arm nearly turns green while ripping them off.

·
Registered
1,271 Posts
There has been tons of threads on this issue.
I have this remover that fits over the top of the oil filter. It is plastic and works every time.

Getting the factory filter off is a pain. Just search all the old threads. Haven't had a problem since the orignal came off.

·
Registered
839 Posts
try the metal band style wrench or try a standard size socket K & N is American so standard might fit better

·
Registered
2,897 Posts