Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I change my oil do i need to replace the drain plug gasket?

Also does that drain plug and the oil filter need to be applied with a torque wrench or hand tighten be OK? thanx

·
Registered
11,157 Posts
you shouldn't have to replace the gasket...for the filter i always hand tighten that...just like a vehicle..i have been doing that for over 10 years..make sure you put oil on the filter before you put it on...for the plug you can use a torque wrench

·
Registered
1,893 Posts
The washer should last many oil changes. The filter, I always hand tighten then turn it another quarter turn with a filter wrench.

·
Registered
2,128 Posts
The washer should last many oil changes. The filter, I always hand tighten then turn it another quarter turn with a filter wrench.
:+1: on the filter. Its probably not necessary... but then again maybe luckz is just strong enough to do it by hand. :lol: Anyways, along the lines of luckz's recommendation of using oil on the rubber filter gasket, I actually have had better luck with greese. The reason I use it is because it generally doesn't burn off as much as oil does therefore making it easier to get the filter off. Just my .02. I've done both but liked the greese better. Just a fine coat on the gasket will do wonders.

·
Registered
973 Posts
change the filter too.

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
kawi1000, thanks for the heads up but its my first one i am doing myself. I have like 10,200 miles on it and I got a set of pit bull stands, service manuel, torque wrenchs, filter wrench, and other tools for chirstmas and wanna start doing my own maintance to save some $$... Sick of taking it to dealers....

·
Registered
238 Posts
Anybody have exact oil amounts for the 07 10r??

The bike says 3.2 with out filter removed and 3.7 with filter removed...

How much do yall use??

·
Retired post whore
8,463 Posts