Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok... here is the story. I have been riding for a few years. Started out with a $400 Ninja 500, which I restored and really really like, and also got a '76 Honda last year which I like too. I took the MSF class two years ago and took it again with my wife last year. I don't think I'm the best rider out there but I do think I know the basics of riding and can ride safely in traffic and on the freeway.

Now, my buddy has been riding a few years too, but he hardly has any miles under his belt and hasn't taken a class like MSF before and doesn't seem to really know what he's doing on the ride. Like, in curves, instead of following a smooth path through the curve he'll lean over a bit, stand up straight, then when he's hitting the edge of his lane he'll lean it over again.

He just bought a new ZX-10R, as did I. His last bike was a Katana 600 which he only rode a few hundred miles and he sold over a year ago. I am really worried he is gonna get hurt.

Does anyone have any tips/ideas for talking to a friend about this? The problem is, I can't just go around telling my friend I am a better rider than he is. He grew up w/ dirt bikes and used to race street cars back in the day so he has a lot of confidence in his skills. I think he could be a great rider too, I am just scared whenever I ride behind him in the curves!!

What can I do??

·
Registered
675 Posts
1st. Always stay behind him in the curves. Can you put a life insurance policy on your buddy?
j/k
Suggest taking some track days together? Safety courses? Maybe put lots of miles on the open road to get the old riding legs of your buddy warmed up?
Me personally, I would tell him that his riding scares the hell out of me, and that he needs to work on his riding skills. It's not a fun ride if you are worried about your riding buddy getting hurt. Be safe out there.

·
Registered
758 Posts