1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey
total noob here.
New to motorcycles all together.
Yeah, i know the zx10r is a bit of a beast for a new guy, but I like the way i fit on them and i got a great deal on an '06.
Got a buddy teaching me the basics on his extra yahama fzr6.
The bike scene is pretty big down here in the Tampa Bay, Florida Area.
So far, everyone has been pretty awesome as far as accepting the new guy and helpin out.

·
Registered
388 Posts
:welcome: and take it easy starting out. :thumbsup:

·
Gun Owning Republican
5,278 Posts
Welcome! Just take it all at your pace...Not anyone else's or the 06 will burn you. Read up on threads regarding that year. Awesome bike but it does have its quirks.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks
and oh yeah, definitely taking it easy. we've got a huge parking lot near us that is empty at night. I'm gonna practice there until I build up some more confidence, and develop some good habits.

·
Green Hippie
17,566 Posts
thanks
and oh yeah, definitely taking it easy. we've got a huge parking lot near us that is empty at night. I'm gonna practice there until I build up some more confidence, and develop some good habits.
very wise, try checking out a local rider safety course as well:wink:

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Welcome! Just take it all at your pace...Not anyone else's or the 06 will burn you. Read up on threads regarding that year. Awesome bike but it does have its quirks.
quirks? like what?

I figure not having any experience, I'm at a bit of an advantage as I'm not used to another kind of bike...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
very wise, try checking out a local rider safety course as well:wink:
definitely on the to do list before i start riding everyday. I was looking at the one they do at the Harley Store.