Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
here's the scoop. Just ordered a brand new Ohlins TTX shock for the 07 zx10. bike only has 500 miles on it. easy as hell to install and looks damn pretty. but i didnt spend 1100 on a shock for looks...

i put the thing on last night, and took it for a ride today. first thing i noticed was that in was a ROUGH ride! Its absolutetly uncomfortable. The bike now feels unstable in the corners, and when it hits a bump, it hurts. The bike just feels totally unbalanced now.

Ohlins sends these shocks out set up for the ZX10. When i ordered, I told them i weigh180 in gym shorts. I dont know how specific they match the spring to the weight, but she said thats good enough.

current rider sag is 37mm.
current static sag is 18 mm.

I'm really new to all this suspension set up, but to be honest, the bike felt more stable in full lean, half lean, and straight with the stock shock on. have no idea what to do. Do i need to send this back and get a heavier spring? Do i have to take this to a pro to set it up? good lord... any help?

Attachments

·
Registered
1,238 Posts
First make sure the shock was sprung for your weight. Get the number off the spring and call Ohlins to make sure it is the correct spring for your weight. If it is then look in the manual that comes with the shock and read about setting the preload, compression, and rebound. Check where they are set now. A good place to start is where the "factory" settings are to start with. To get the best setup you should take it to someone who knows how to set up suspension on sport bikes, and in particular Ohlins. Should cost about $30-$50. I can tell you, once my bikes are set up for racing. They suck to ride on the street. Very stiff. I have to really soften up the suspension for street riding.

·
Registered
34,537 Posts