Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys/girls, I'm new to the sight and wondering if anyone can give me the real deal on breaking-in a new bike. Thanks for any help

·
Registered
753 Posts
:welcome:
You'll have to follow your heart on this one, but just for info there're about three currents:
_ Follow the break-in period as per the user manual.
_ Ride it as you usually ride, as if there's no necessary break-in.
_ Ride it as if you stole it.

I'm sure this won't help you much, and you'll have to choose the preferable break-in style for yourself.
:cool:

·
Registered
1,405 Posts
I always heard break in was mainly for the rider's benefit (don't try anything aggressive until you've ridden a few thousands soft miles).

Friend is a riding fend & gets at least one new bike a year. He swears in changing the oil twice inside the first 500 miles. He also has his bikes delivered, so that he can redo the setup of the bike.

·
Registered
104 Posts
I plus one onerad10

It makes lot sense from guy that has built and rebuilt over 200 engines...

·
All show and all go 10r
5,921 Posts
I would personally recommend do a oil change right away and its not true engine oil that comes with a new bike its storage oil. Use w/e you want then ride it however you want. I have been told this by the service manager at my local kawi dealer and this was after my break-in. Honestly if you can ride it per the manual you have wicked self control. I could how live with it until 500 kms then I just fucken gave it to her every once in a while. Main issue to is to vary the load.

·
Registered
3,019 Posts
i rode it softly but then there were times that i hit the rev limiter! ride the bike like how you are going to ride it normally!

·
Registered
1,289 Posts