Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to replace my chain, and I am going to put a new sprocket on also, and need to know the right one. Pretty confusing as I have never done this before. I want to keep stock setup, 40 tooth rear sproket and 525 chain. The rear sprockets list, some do, as 520 conversion 40 tooth sprokets, What is the diiference? The 525 chain is also confusing. Stock is I believe 108 links. There are 120 link 525 and susch. I am going to make sure it is X-ring with rivet master link of course, but can;t seem to choose the right setup. Any pointers would be appreciated. Thanks :cool:

·
Postwhore with an 04
4,387 Posts
520 chains are lighter and "thinner" not as heavy duty, people switch to them to save rotating mass but this requires changing the sprockets as well.

If your keeping the same size chain you only need to buy a 525 chain unless your sprocket is worn out. Then make sure the sprocket you buy is 525.

Chains usually come in 120 links and have to be cut to proper length. I think it is 110 so not 100% positive on that. Cutting them to the proper length requires some tools. Their are kits for this or if you have a grinder/dremel tool you can probably make due. Otherwise take it to a shop and they can cut it for you.

·
Registered
34,537 Posts
520 chains are lighter and "thinner" not as heavy duty, people switch to them to save rotating mass but this requires changing the sprockets as well.

If your keeping the same size chain you only need to buy a 525 chain unless your sprocket is worn out. Then make sure the sprocket you buy is 525.

Chains usually come in 120 links and have to be cut to proper length. I think it is 110 so not 100% positive on that. Cutting them to the proper length requires some tools. Their are kits for this or if you have a grinder/dremel tool you can probably make due. Otherwise take it to a shop and they can cut it for you.