Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
1,309 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So as most of you know I wrecked on a friends bike on Sept. 24th. Just received a ticket in the mail for $123.00 and it all it said the infraction was is "speed too fast". All I know about the accident was that I was found 100ft away from the bike, I understand that this may indicate speed. Just wondering if you guys think I should just pay it or take it to court. I should mention there was no witnesses around during the accident.

Thanks for your help guys.

·
Registered
2,043 Posts
how can they assume you were speeding if nobody witnessed anything?. hopefully you didnt mention anything about speeding when this incident happened. you should fight it.

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
As a police officer i can say , by measuring skid marks, drag/grooves in the road and several other things, we can actually get your speed within 1-2mph.

So if I were you i would pay the ticket, because if you go to court they will begin to explain how they measured and when they calibrated the machines and how they came about the meausement and how accurate the measurements are and how well past measurements have held up in court.

any questions or anything i can do PM me

·
Registered
34,537 Posts
I realize law enforcement officers are trained to evaluate accident scenes but its still a guesstimation on the officers part so atleast present your case to the judge as best you can and see what happens.

BD

·
Registered
1,309 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
10roller said:
how can they assume you were speeding if nobody witnessed anything?. hopefully you didnt mention anything about speeding when this incident happened. you should fight it.

I was unconcious at the scene and didnt wake up untill about an hr. at the hospital so didnt tell anyone anything. I do know the speed limit on the road I was on was 40mph.

·
Registered
1,309 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
Registered
1,538 Posts