Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I won't need help putting it on..i just need help buying the right one....i've heard so much crap about what the stock sizes were on the 10r and i dunno how i'm gonna find out unless i count the ones on mine! i've heard its: 16/39, 17/39, and 17/40....which is it??? I've noticed a bunch of you guys went with a 15 tooth front....which is what i guess i wanna do...and i know the chain on the 10r is a 525. what i really wanna know is if i buy just a 15 tooth front, do i have to do anything to the chain? and could i buy a little bigger sprocket for the back and just slap it on??(i mean as long as its for a 525 chain) I'm kinda new to working on bikes...I just need a little more info...but at least give me the credit for finding out some info for myself lol
so heres the summary:
what is the stock front/rear sprocket on the 10r?
is the 15 tooth a good acceleration front sprocket?
should I change the rear sprocket up a tooth or two?
and can i leave the chain alone as long as i buy the sprockets for a 525 chain? thanks guys

·
Yankee Racer
14,838 Posts
brianhknott said:
I won't need help putting it on..i just need help buying the right one....i've heard so much crap about what the stock sizes were on the 10r and i dunno how i'm gonna find out unless i count the ones on mine! i've heard its: 16/39, 17/39, and 17/40....which is it??? I've noticed a bunch of you guys went with a 15 tooth front....which is what i guess i wanna do...and i know the chain on the 10r is a 525. what i really wanna know is if i buy just a 15 tooth front, do i have to do anything to the chain? and could i buy a little bigger sprocket for the back and just slap it on??(i mean as long as its for a 525 chain) I'm kinda new to working on bikes...I just need a little more info...but at least give me the credit for finding out some info for myself lol
so heres the summary: