Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Went to a local track this morning, first time out there on the 10R and i was having a blast, but that didn't last too long.. Around 10 minutes into the first session they raised the red flag bc someone went down, soon as I slowed down it sounded like my motor got louder and vibrated more. I pitted in, gave it a few revs, and sure enough it was making a slight clatter/chattering noise only when revving it. At idle it sounds fine. Bike still starts and goes without a hitch, but it's definitely the stator that fkd everything up. Damn you 04's..

Thankfully I have a friend that has an 05 motor laying around so it'll be getting swapped out soon. Bike only had 10k miles on it. :sad:

·
Dont mess wit White Ninja
5,932 Posts
If its just the stator why are you replacing the hole engine. I'm no mechanic or anything but I think that doesnt make sense but please correct me if I'm wrong. Now if its knocking and miss firing I could understand or something. But back on topic thats shity man, at least you have a back up!!

·
Registered
23,742 Posts
I think he means the Generator....that is an Engine replacement for the 04s and 05s just not as common on 05s....sucks it's hit and miss as many more members had hard miles on 04s with no problems and some did with much less miles like you. :dontknow:

Anyway the 05 model should not do the same if it's the same thing and related to Generator Blow up....other than a few minor suspension settings and generator washers the 05 is NO different than an 04...the higher Gens have taken care of any semi-mass related problems to the Generator. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
whoops, sorry bout that, generator is what i meant. i'm surprised at how much the generators alone sell for, and how that damn thing can cause all that damage.

·
Guilty by association
8,751 Posts
that sucks, what a pain in the arse

·
Registered