Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got a quick question for the mechs. I have a 93 KX125 that I had rebuilt bottom and top. During break in the motorshut off and it wont start again (not seized).Iam getting spark and fuel and I also checked the reeds. The compression is at 100 which I think is low should it be around 175? I tried bumping and it would not start. What else could I possibly check. Timing is also dead on.

HELP

·
Licensed Dist of HaterAde
11,423 Posts
If she's getting fuel and spark then there has to be something internal that's jacked up....especially if you say the compression is low.how long/hard was it ran after the rebuild? i'm not a master mechanic by any means but it sounds like something going on with a piston or ring/seal?

·
Registered
341 Posts
Does it sound like it wants to start at all? Make sure the top end torque specs are still good. Maybe u are lucky with some shitty gass. If you have low compression probably not so lucky.

·
Registered
986 Posts
is it good spark?....sometimes a plug can fail under compression.

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
just put in a new plug and it still wont start. It will only backfire once in awhile otherwise it does nothing. By the way it is a two stroke single cylinder.

·
Registered
1,602 Posts
Does it sound like it wants to start at all? Make sure the top end torque specs are still good. Maybe u are lucky with some shitty gass. If you have low compression probably not so lucky.
Low compression can occur when a cylinder gets soaked with fuel.Was it hard to start when it shut off?could be shitty fuel.

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter #7