Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm looking to get a new Penske shock for the rear but I don't know what one I should get!

This is going to be for my track only 10r, which I’m planning on hitting a few different tracks with.

I guess I'm realizing that this is just a Track day bike not a race bike, so I’m torn on what shock to get. I keep thinking about the 8981. With its ease and mindlessness of “set it and forget it” it’d, BUT in the back of my head I would wonder if the 8987 would be better in every way. (You know you get what you pay for kind of thoughts). I’m just not sure if I need all the adjustments!

Anyone running a Penske have any suggestions for me?

Kyle

·
Registered
37 Posts
I've been using a Penske 8987 on my R6 race bike for 5 years (had it rebuilt last year) and it has been OUTSTANDING. I only wish that my ZX10r handled like my R6 does. Since I've not used the 8981 I can not really give testimony to how different they would be, but my instinct tells me that the low speed compression adjustment is helping to prevent rear end 'squat' without making bump absorption too harsh.

·
Registered
34,537 Posts
zrxhooligan

I purchased the 2-way 8981 about a month ago and enjoy the simplier approach to it VS the 8987. For my suited up weight of 195lbs i had a 500lb spring installed and its near perfect. I had the opportunity to test it a week or so ago @ Infineon while attending a CLASS school with Reg and his many helpful assistants.

BD

·
Registered
3,311 Posts
get the 8981 and get the forks done too. That would be about equal. $1100 for 8987 vs. $770 8981 $360 forks.
I've never riden on an 8987, but I have to say I'm oh too curious. Why haven't looked at the Ohlins? Dan Kyle offers up a nice deal for a nice price and its 3 way adjustable and has the remote preload to take away that PITA.