Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
652 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wanna see what 1/4 mile time i can run. Im down 2" in the rear. I weigh 140 lbs. Im just checking for different launching styles etc.. looking for pointers.. even though plenty of practice is probably best.

·
Registered
5,228 Posts
Check tire temp. also. Cold tires are scary. I launch at about 4k rpm. But I'm still learning also. I'm strapped in the front.

·
Registered
5,228 Posts
Put your legs back like they are wheelie bars. Get the rpm up to about 4k. Feather the clutch out, and try to keep the front tire about 2 - 3 inches off the ground. That's what I'm shooting for at least. Everybody is different and has different styles. Ryan Schnitz is the best person to tell you.

·
Registered
2,261 Posts
First try leaving like you would from a stop light. Once you ge the feel than try 5-6 thousand rpm and slip the clutch. DON'T DUMP THE CLUTCH!!! You will have to modulate the throttle a little to keep the wheel down but you will ge the hang of it. Try launching from different rpm ranges but be carefull not to smoke the clutch.

·
Registered
2,261 Posts
No I have only been to MIR so far.

·
Registered
2,261 Posts
Hahaha, thanks for the vote of confidence.

·
Registered
652 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I launched next to a cbr 600. We were even for about 100 ft., well of course it was all over after that but still. I was at 5k rpm feathered the clutch but with the tall first gear it just has nothing there til you get some rpms climbing.

·
Registered
777 Posts
maze said:
First try leaving like you would from a stop light. Once you ge the feel than try 5-6 thousand rpm and slip the clutch. DON'T DUMP THE CLUTCH!!! You will have to modulate the throttle a little to keep the wheel down but you will ge the hang of it. Try launching from different rpm ranges but be carefull not to smoke the clutch.