Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today i put a deposit on a 2015 Gen4 (with ABS) vs R1 and Gen 5.

I decided on the 2015 as i was able to get a lower price, and decided against the R1, as it felt cramped for me (i am 6 foot, 175), and i did not do the Gen5 because it was more expensive.

Also i liked the 11 pound lower weight, and adjustability of footpegs.

I am not an expert on ZX10r or R1s and was wondering what you experts think.

The bike is being shipped from another location to my local dealership, and i could not sit on the Gen4 so i am not sure if it will fit me like the Gen5 which i did sit on today, and liked the Gen5 seating ergonomics more than the R1.

Let me know your thoughts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Today i put a deposit on a 2015 Gen4 (with ABS) vs R1 and Gen 5.

I decided on the 2015 as i was able to get a lower price, and decided against the R1, as it felt cramped for me (i am 6 foot, 175), and i did not do the Gen5 because it was more expensive.

Also i liked the 11 pound lower weight, and adjustability of footpegs.

I am not an expert on ZX10r or R1s and was wondering what you experts think.

The bike is being shipped from another location to my local dealership, and i could not sit on the Gen4 so i am not sure if it will fit me like the Gen5 which i did sit on today, and liked the Gen5 seating ergonomics more than the R1.

Let me know your thoughts
I'm not sure how much cheaper the Gen 4 was for you vs. the Gen 5, that will be the determining factor.

As someone who bought the 2015 Gen 4, they are multiple things that made me wish I had waited another year (although not like I could have known):

- Stock quickshifter is huge. I already had a quickshifter via Woolich set-up when I heard about the 2016, so I wasn't too mad, but QS is something you want. And if you put a Woolich on the 2016, you can get auto-blipping downshift, which is something I want but cant get on my Gen 4.