Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
409 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me start off by saying that I'm in no rush to get married. Nor am I looking for justification to propose. I'm just looking for advice for those of you who have been there, good and bad. This is my first time being in a relationship where I have felt like marriage was a real possibility.

Backstory: I am 23 yrs old, college grad, and just landed a job. She is 22 and also a grad who has a good job. We have been dating a year. I'll spare you all the mushy details, but I really can't see myself with ever wanting to be with anybody else. And recently, the thought of marriage/engagement/proposal is starting to linger in my mind. Not necessarily that I should do it, but just that it is the next logical step.

I have other friends that have been dating for 3-6 years and they aren't engaged. I don't think I could see myself waiting that long. But at the same time, I feel like a year isnt long enough.

When did you know your significant other was "the one?" Have you ever felt that way about somebody and then lost it? How long do you think you should be with somebody before you take the plunge? Anything to look out for?

Any advice is welcome, and thanks guys :eek:ccasion1

·
Registered
2,161 Posts
wait as long as you possibly can............ cause if things don't work out you can get your stuff and leave, and if you're married she will take your stuff and you will leave lol

·
Registered
1,788 Posts
I think it is more personal than a single time frame. I had a friend who married is best friend in college. they never dated just hung out alot and got close then thought lets make this permanent. They were happily married for 10 years when she died from a tubal pregnancy. he was pretty tore up and moped for 9 months met somebody and was getting married 3 months later. They seem happy after 2 years together.