Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Hillbillie Mod
20,155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So today I went to MSR to work with my Suspension man Jim Cambora since my race is there in two weeks. For those who dont know I recently purchased the traxxion fork internals and a Penske tripple shock. the front has been working great, but the rear was giving me issues. Basically i wanted to make sure everything was good for the race. First of all I ended up rasing the forks in the tripple and the raising the rear, to get my swingarm angle right. Later after riding, I ened up lowering the front back down however since it wasn't holding a line upon exit. I made alot of progress suspension wise and also found several areas of my body position to improve upon as well. However, for one reason or another I trashed my tires BAD. As soon as I started riding at a decent pace, I just shagged my tire and it was just spinnin everywhere. I ended up takin the tire off, and running it backwards so I could go out for one more session...however I had ZERO traction on either side, and my brakes were gone, so I decided to call it a day. All in all it was a good day...but I am upset about one BIG thing. The fastest I was clocked at was a 1:25.6. I'm pretty sure I ran faster than that, but not by how much. I was doing two wheel slides and losing traction with the rear even on corner entry so I didnt have much confidence to push hard. After checking the times in the race from last year...first place guy ran several 1:20s and a couple of 1:19s to take first... Now Im sure that I can pick up the pace some for the race...but Im not sure if I can pull 4-5 seconds out of my butt...So I'm pretty dissapointed in that...I was hopin to do well...but I guess I wont really know till we put the gloves on. Since you read all my mumblin you are awarded with pics from the day...

·
Registered
2,577 Posts