Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I’m a newbie here from Ipswich Suffolk and fingers crossed I’ll be picking up a nice clean 04 10r.

Is there anything that needs to be looked at or any general known issues with them?

Thanks

·
Judge Dredd Mod
9,188 Posts
:welcome: Drubert! :welcome:

I would check frame welds, 1st Gens were known to sometimes develop cracks the the frame welds, especially if the bike was abused. In the '04's The generators could grenade the engine and need a shim to keep it from doing that. The '05's didn't have this issue. If you search for it here you can find a lot of info on both issues. The 1st Gens were also named 'Widowmakers' for having a very bad disposition when slammed to full WOT. Headshake is a major issue and a damper is advised to be fitted.

That said, I would not hesitate to own one. I've owned an '05 and loved her dearly. I miss her to this day and wish I never sold her.

:welcome: again, and post pics of her when you get her! :ayyy:

·
Registered
771 Posts
That's droolworthy :welcome:

Still miss my 05 :frown2:

Loved everything about it, even got the brakes to work pretty decent after braided lines and careful bleeding. Needs a steering damper though :wink2:

·
Registered
289 Posts
Nice! Not gonna lie i had to google your location lol. Dont know much on the first gens but i do know they're an animal!! Welcome and enjoy!

·
Administrator
6,716 Posts
Nice! :thumbsup:

and you have the best color :wink:

·
Registered
23 Posts
I'm looking at an 04 tomorrow, can't wait to see it. Were there any issues you had to address with yours?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
The only issue I have is a really annoying buzzing noise when at constant or rolling off the throttle.

Also dont be too worried about it’s reputation. I’ve geared mine -1 +2 and the front doesn’t come up as much as my old VTR. Although get her above 6k and it all goes a bot batshit mental.