Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've searched and read your posts about great OTD deals from all around the country and I'm getting very frustrated. I'm a California resident and our bikes are mainly marked up because you cannot register a "49 state" bike unless it has 7,500 miles or more.

I talked numbers at a dealership today and was negotiating for over 1 hour. The best that they could do was $10,566 OTD.

OTD to me is bike/tax/tag/fees...the works. 8.75% tax here in San Diego.

I want a new 08 BLUE. There are still a few dealerships in my area that have a blue 08 left. Is it foolish of me to believe that I can get a 08 OTD for $9500...or less? Because they look at me like I'm nuts when I asked for 9K OTD. They keep pushing the CBR1000, but it's just not what I want. I can't comfortably handle more than $9.5K

Is it hopeless? I need some realistic advice & encouragement.

·
Registered
356 Posts
Keep trying, do not give in for anything above $8000 for a 2 year old left over. If they say $10,000 tell them you'll come back next year when it's a 3 year old left over. haha

I bought my 08 Blue 10r in April for $8900 OTD in Mass... then I moved to California and shipped the bike here.

Don't give in, keep trying. Good luck!

·
Dont mess wit White Ninja
5,932 Posts
I'd say leave the great state of California and buy your bike from some hole in the wall dealer that has them for cheap!!

·
Registered
308 Posts
Our prices are quite abit higher over her in the southwest. I tried hard to find a deal even close to what they pay on the eastcost. Couldn't do it. The price you got quoted is fair for the area. Unless you want to buy from ebay and have it shipped. I think you will still pay tax when you register it.

·
Registered
42 Posts