Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have this akrapovic bolt on can and I would like to know if anyone can think of a way to adapt it to istall on my 2008 zx10r.

I got it at a estate sale, and have no clue what it was meant for, the three digits stamped on the cone are US7. if anyone could identify what brand model and year of bike its for that would be very helpful.

Lastly will I have a issue with back pressure and or remapping problems if I install a can from another bike onto my bike? seems like it should be a pretty easy adaptation all I need is a flange that bolts up and a pipe that will connect to the stock pipe. to make the connection.

I am new to the zx10 world, but have been riding a long time, I have never seen anyone do what I am asking so will be a learning experience if nothing else.

Thanks for your help on this.

Attachments

·
Registered
6,028 Posts
This is just my thoughts, I havent done it though.

Get a midpipe fabricated that will align the muffler to the headers and poisition it properly on the side of the bike. Make ths pipe about 1/8" longer than it should be, maybe even less than that. Get a bracket that aligns to the bolt holes on the end of the muffler. Flare the midpipe so that the bracket cant slide any off the midpipe. Bolt the bracket/midpipe to the muffler. Install it on the headers and mount the hanger to the passenger peg.

·
Registered
1,378 Posts
I would just take it to a muffler shop where they can find a flange for that can, weld it to a link pipe and there you go...probably wouldn't cost that much either

·
BigCat for Prez!
7,229 Posts
after careful consideration, i believe this to be ur best option:badteeth:

Attachments

·
Registered
6,028 Posts

·
BigCat for Prez!
7,229 Posts
:thumbsup:

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #9