Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all I’m a newbie to the 10r and am loving it so far.

I’ve had 1000’s before so am not a novice when it comes to tuning etc. But I’ve just got my 04 that has a mss headers to akra can,pc3 and that’s about it. Now I’ve got it booked in at mss to have a custom set up and am wondering.

1- is a TRE worth fitting as I’ve read so many conflicting reports about this

2- is it with the hassle of removing the secondary butterlflies?

Again for the same reason.

Many thanks

P.s. loving the site so far

·
Registered
335 Posts
stock gen 1 head pipes did not have those balance tubes connecting 1-2 and 3-4. lots of opinions on tre fitment, cheap mod i like on stk engines. plenty of opinions on removing sec flies, gen 1 i pull them.

·
Premium Member
9,188 Posts
I put a TRE on my 1st Gen and didn't like it, so I removed it. But it's just personal preference. Not a hassle to remove the butterflies, just a little involved. There are some threads about it here on the site

·
Registered
2,301 Posts
Tre, if your going to get the bike dynoed, if you ride your bike mainly road and through spring and autumn i would leave the secondaries in, removing just gives a little uptop, but the biggest down side is cold starting, the secondaries are essential for auto choke. Those headers are custom pipe made locally by a fabricator for MSS, if its performance you want yes there better than stock headers.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the input guys. I got it booed in a bsd for a custom set up on Friday.

I pulled the filter to clean it in prep for Friday and noticed the pair system has been blocked already and the secondary’s have already been removed.

michael4012 Would you know who as I’d like to find out about them? Was it mhp?

Thanks.

P.s. I’m loving this bike already and only had 2 decent rides so far. It’s mega.

·
Registered
2,301 Posts