Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Concerning Les Pauls... does the difference between Gibson and Epiphone justify the price of a Gibson? I've not owned either but I've heard both arguments. Many people tell me to get an Epi and switch out the pickups, and I'll have basically the same thing for about half the price. I'm not a professional musician yet, but at any rate I will probably be picking up a no-bling studio model. I need an electric for songwriting.
I currently play a Martin D-15.

Thanks for the input
Casey

·
Registered
2,166 Posts
I have played both brands of guitars, I am know expert by any means, but I can tell the difference. My friend has a 70 something SG and that thing is sweet as apple butter.

·
Registered
235 Posts
yep... the two brands use totally different woods which has a huge impact on the resonance. yeah the epiphone also has cheaper electronics and hardware, so swapping the pickups won't solve the problem... not that there is a problem, there is nothing wrong with epiphone and for the price I would recommend it. But there is a reason for the price diff

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So I would save money in the long run by just saving up and going with a Gibson Studio LP I guess.
I don't like buying things twice.... that's the reason I got the Martin for my accoustic.

·
Registered
2,128 Posts