Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

Well as of yesterday my right fork seal started to wheep a little bit, so its time to redo the fork seals.This is my first time doing the fork seals on this bike, so I want to make sure I do everything correct. I hear OEM seals are the way to go, but has anyone have any experience with "all balls racing seals?" Also I'm told that people go with different weight fork oil based on rider weight. I weigh about 150lbs, does anyone have any recommendations for fork oil?

·
Registered
1,526 Posts
Stick with OEM or SKF for seals, all balls seals are junk and wear out too quickly. As to oil, just use the correct viscosity (weight). You can try varying oil level height as a tuning variable, but unless you know what you're looking for just with use the air gap in the manual.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ok.thanks. Is there a specific brand that you recommend for fork oil? Also do you know how much the OEM seals cost? Someone told me $80 and i thought that was a bit expensive.

·
Registered
1,624 Posts
ok.thanks. Is there a specific brand that you recommend for fork oil? Also do you know how much the OEM seals cost? Someone told me $80 and i thought that was a bit expensive.
If your forks have bushings you might want to replace and shim those it will make the seals last longer.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
If your forks have bushings you might want to replace and shim those it will make the seals last longer.
I've heard these bushing kits are around $100. Do you know where I could get one, hopefully cheaper than $100. my bike just hit 14k miles

·
Registered
1,526 Posts
You cannot replace the bushings in the KYB forks, they are pressed in. You can TRY and remove them but you'll probably end up destroying the tubes in the process.