Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
874 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 2008 ZX-10R. I have a slip on pipe w/ link pipe. I want to keep the stock headers (too cheap (aka. broke) to buy a full system right now) but eliminate the cats. I thought about just gutting them, but then I figured after all that effort it would just be better to cut them out completely and replace the chambers with straight pipe for smoother flow. This is no big task for me - I'm a mechanic and fabricator so I can weld it and do whatever with no problems.

My question is does anyone know what size the pipe is going into and out of the cats? I'd like to order the piping and fittings if needed all ahead of time so the bike isn't down for too long.

Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
874 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ooo that sounds goood, do my headers for me too! :helmet:
I'd be willing do this mod for others as well. I probably won't be doing mine till over the winter. I don't really want to take the bike down right now. I'm going to do that mod, maybe have the headers ceramic coated and then a few other mods that involve the fuel and ignition systems them have it custom tuned. I also will most likely be doing it for my friend also.

If your serious about having me do this mod for you, you'll either have to wait till I do mine and make sure it works, or your headers will be my guinea pig.

·
Newfie Bullet
2,341 Posts
LOL..fer christ sakes,just gut the header...Why go cuttin and weldin new pipe in place of it..If your gonna go through all that work just say F it and build a new full system..
Figure out the inside diameter of the pipe where the cat is and get an extention and one of them do flickys that you use to cut out door knob holes with and have at it..