Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was out yesterday riding went round a corner and ended up sideways 😂 put it down to oil on the road then it happened again on the next corner 🤦🏻‍♂️ Pulled over to have a look and my rear tyre was completely covered in oil with oil leaking out the engine. I have little knowledge when it comes to engines so was wondering if anyone could shed some light on what it is that’s cracked here? attached a picture of the tyre so you can appreciate the hair raising end to the ride 😂

·
Registered
441 Posts
Pretty tough to tell anything from your photo. I suggest remove all the plastics/side covers completely clean/wash the bike with degreaser, start the bike and see if you can identify where the oil is coming from.

·
Registered
2,305 Posts
Lucky your OK there that could have been nasty bro. That picture certainly looks like you dumped a lot of oil, sadly the picture doesn't help identifying where it came from. Was the engine temperature normal, was the bike still running sweet, what is the oil level now, I hope you didn't ride on more or even re-start the engine.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah I’m still surprised I stayed on to be fair 😂
Nah I pulled over about 200 yards down the road and waited to be picked up in a van.
the picture shows the part that’s cracked and where the oil was from I’ve attached a picture so you can see more where it’s located on the bike. Red circle is the loose metal and the blue bolt is where it’s connected as it wobbles from there now

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I’ve attached a picture further out in the post above, I don’t fancy starting it though as it’s completely empty of oil now 🤦🏻‍♂️

·
Registered
2,305 Posts