Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
718 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are the plugs the same? Can you run the gen 4 throttle bodies and etc to make things easier? Anyone know?

My engine is likely toast.. so yay
 

·
REPOST Enforcement Mod
Joined
·
14,969 Posts
:eyecrazy: Oh snap! What happened to it dude?

I'd speculate the same thing as mpp12 on this. It will likely bolt in and work fine. But I'd have to research the sensors and throttlebodies a bit to see if they would match those of the G4. If I was a betting man, I'd take that bet that it would work just fine!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
718 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Not 100% what happened as of yet as I saod in the email...

Im refusing to touch it right now. But as we assumed, im sure its trashed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Hey mate,

Following this post closely as I have a 2014 zx10 with a blow motor. Bike has done 43,000 kilometers and the bottom end bearing let go a few days ago.

A friend recently crashed his 2016 with 9,000ks on the clock and I am considering buying the wreak and performing that swap.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
734 Posts
There is no reason why a 2016+ motor shouldn't fit in a 2011-15 frame.

You would need 2016 wire harness as the connectors appear to be different for the sensors, I'm sure the sensors themselves are the same but you would have to change the plugs.

But due to different connectors you would need a 16+ wire harness which means 2016 ecu and throttle bodies.

Although in theory there is no reason why you couldn't use sensors off a 2011-15 motor on a 2016 so that you could use a 2015 harness, but you would obviously need to have or buy the 11-15 sensors.

Plus regardless of the electronics a new set of hoses would be required due to the oil cooler on the 16 going tube from the left side to oil cooler and then tube to the right side.

hope that helps
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,072 Posts
Sorry to hear Victors, i assume this is the same bike that was giving low dyno #'s? Ever get to the bottom of that? I wont press too much as it sounds like its a bit of a open wound atm.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
718 Posts
Discussion Starter #10 (Edited)
Sorry to hear Victors, i assume this is the same bike that was giving low dyno #'s? Ever get to the bottom of that? I wont press too much as it sounds like its a bit of a open wound atm.

Yeah, same bike. Ended up getting good numbers out of her before the issue. What's really fucked up is my 5th gen makes less than the broken 4th gen. I swear I have the worst luck.

Anyway, ended up swapping exhaust, all the coils, filter, v stacks and added a pc-v as it was easier for tuning changes and got 181 put of her on a somewhat conservative dyno (tuned two new r1s to 176 and 178 on this dyno). I still haven't touched the gen 4 after draining the oil. I need to turn the motor over by hand to see what's up.

On top of that I'm ready to ride my new bike into a lake if it doesn't start making power. Full arrow system on order, then I gotta tune it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,072 Posts
Well damn, look at it this way.........you got a ARROW FULL SYSTEM on the way!! Still cant figure about the G5 low numbers, baffling. I've faith youll get all sorted between what you know and the .net fam.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
718 Posts
Discussion Starter #13 (Edited)
Victors, very strange.... the new R1 in the dyno I use get 178 exactly... after tune and slip on 185.
Yeah, I got 178 with a slip On, flash, tune and a filter on a 2015. The 16 didn't have a filter and the tune was a quick one. I know I could have gotten a bit more with more dyno time but well, I can't be too picky.

Like I saod, this dyno can be conservative.

What do the 14rs Get? Stock with slip ins they are 185 to 192. Flashed and exhaust they are 196 to 205
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
718 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Well damn, look at it this way.........you got a ARROW FULL SYSTEM on the way!! Still cant figure about the G5 low numbers, baffling. I've faith youll get all sorted between what you know and the .net fam.
Cept it's back ordered and by the time I get it, riding season will be completely over for me lol. Such is life I guess.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Let me get this straight, to drop a 2017 engine into a 2013, I'll need:
*2016 wire harness set (could a Race harness be a better bet?)
*some piping (for the radiator)

Is that it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,113 Posts
My understanding is you just need to. Drop the engine
Let me get this straight, to drop a 2017 engine into a 2013, I'll need:
*2016 wire harness set (could a Race harness be a better bet?)
*some piping (for the radiator)

Is that it?
Enviado desde mi G3123 mediante Tapatalk
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top