Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well as most of you have stated that there is a problem with the fork seals leaking. Well mine have started leaking with just about 2000 miles on them. What I really need to know is how hard are they to replace? What kind of special tools are needed? I've never done them before but I am aircraft mechanic for the USAF so I do have just a little bit of mechanical abilities!!!! Lol.

·
Late Apex
803 Posts
Well as most of you have stated that there is a problem with the fork seals leaking. Well mine have started leaking with just about 2000 miles on them. What I really need to know is how hard are they to replace? What kind of special tools are needed? I've never done them before but I am aircraft mechanic for the USAF so I do have just a little bit of mechanical abilities!!!! Lol.

Heres a complete write up on how to .

http://www.zx-10r.net/forum/showthread.php?t=83764

tools are located here

http://www.traxxion.com/ForkServiceToolKit.aspx

As far as EASY ... Well . You have to disassemble your triple tree, lower triple . take wheels off. drop the forks and gut the tubes .. If you have limited mechanical experience then just pay to get em done ...

you need seals , and 1 32Oz and a quart of 10 weight fork oil and simple green

another thing to think of ... a dealership wont scuff up the fork legs too much .. maybe at the mounting spots and some bolt removal marks but thats it . your first seal change is gonna scuff up the crap out of your external tubes

·
Registered
4,603 Posts
I think the seals leaking is hit or miss. I have 29K and I am just starting to see some very light rainbow color. I do wheelies occasinal endo. After I ride you don't notice anything. Not enough to say I need to get them changed anyway. You don't even feel the film if you touch the forks.