Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! So this is my first time posting here, so please bear with me, and I hope I can find an answer to my issue. Regarding the front wheel, I could never tightened the axle to its proper torque of 94 ft./lbs. because the wheel wouldn't spin easily. The more torque I added, the more binding occurred. I took the wheel off the bike and found that the inner tube sleeve does NOT come in contact with the inner race of the right side bearing. There is about a 2 mm or so distance between the two and the bearing was totally seated properly. The left side was fine. I first thought that the left side bearing wasn't seated in far enough, so when I tapped it in further, I found that the inner tube sleeve was in so tight that I couldn't spin the left bearing at all, BUT the right side bearing was completely free. I took out the bearings and found that the inner tube sleeve CANNOT pass through the right side of the wheel whatsoever. For some reason, there is a very sharp-edged ridge in the center of the wheel that the inner sleeve should pass through to meet up with the right side bearing.inner race. It's as if the casting of the wheel wasn't finished properly. Has anyone else had this problem? I'm certain this is why I can't torque the axle down correctly. It is using the ceramic bearings which are absolutely the correct ones. I checked this out extensively. I'll try to post the pics I have of it. They will be of the right side of the wheel. One without the inner sleeve so you can see the sharp ridge and one with the sleeve coming up to the right side hole from the left side and how it cannot pass through the hole. Automotive tire Light Motor vehicle Rim Automotive wheel system
Wheel Motor vehicle Automotive tire Tire Light

· Registered
1,239 Posts