Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so I have an 07 zx10r motor that is going in a shifter kart. I have the motor on an engine stand right now and wanted to make sure it would run before I start modifying the frame. I got the motor (complete from oil pan to throttle bodies and header to radiator/fan (harness as well)) and separate from that I purchased a guage, ecu, voltage regulator, starter relay, fuel pump, start/kill switch, junction box, airbox and i THINK that is all.

Well, when I hook up the battery, I get a signal to the gauge and it lights up. The fuel pump, however, does not prime. I can turn the motor over, but it will not start obviously as the fuel pump is not working. I tested the pump and it does work, so I am guessing it is something to do with the wiring somewhere.

Does anyone have any tips or clues or guesses as to where I am going wrong? I am an engineer, but am mechanical, not electrical-and for a reason! So I admit I am no professional in the electrical world.

For what its worth, the gauge is flashing FI and oil pressure (I just changed the oil/filter last week in anticipation for getting this motor running).

If I am leaving info out, please let me know. I do not have any lights or the kickstand switch (if that has anything to do with the fuel pump?).

I also do not have the key lock set. In order to bypass that, I jumped 2 of the connectors to get power for ignition.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am very anxious to get this motor running so I can start on the chassis!!!

·
Registered
3,152 Posts
I am going to say that there is more involved with the ignition than just jumping the wires. The kickstand switch will need to be jumped if it isn't already.

·
Registered
860 Posts